He May Be in His 60s but He Can Run

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, (‭Hebrews‬ ‭12‬:‭1‬)

Last Sunday I went for a five mile jog. The first mile I ran it without any music, I just wanted to take in my surroundings and just enjoy being in the presence of God and His creation. The second mile I decided to play my worship running tunes and just lose myself in the run. I was about to hit mile 3 when I felt compelled to stop. The song “How He Loves” started to play and I felt lead to just walk the duration of that song. It was lovely! With each lyric and with each stride I was enraptured more and more by my surroundings. The trees surrounded each side of the meandering path and every once I a while a beam of sunlight would filter through the branches. I was completely lost in my own thoughts, and then it happened. An elderly man passed me. I watched him as he ever so carefully and slowly jogged his way up the trail. It was inspiring! Here’s a late 60’s year old man doing his very best jogging, yes his stride was light and he was taking his time but he was still pushing himself to keep going. And that’s when it hit me..

The picture of this man’s jog in comparison to mine was the perfect metaphor for our walk of faith. Hebrew 12:1 mentions “let us run with endurance the race that is set before us” and that is exactly the illustration God gave me that lovely afternoon. We (believers in Christ and the churched) are all participants in this race. We are all equipped differently, trained differently, and have different fitness levels. Some of us can run hard and fast for long periods of time while others have to take it slow and carefully so we pace ourselves. In a similar sense there are parts of the race where we run and others where we may walk, depending on the ground, and our physical abilities. The same can be applied to our faith. We all go through different seasons of our lives, sometimes it’s a season to run and other times a season to walk. Same running course but different stages for each runner. 

We have one common goal: finish the race. But when we do it and how we do it varies with each runner. We can still encourage one another and maybe for a section run side by side, but we can’t run it for each other. We have to get through it with God by our side and drawing strength from Him.

So, don’t quit. Keep going. Focus on God (Matthew 6:33) and embrace the run. Let joy fill you on this adventure and remember you are not alone. I hope and pray this little sip of thought encouraged you today. 

In Christ’s love,

S

Leave a Reply

