How My Run Turned Into A Life Lesson 

“Count it all joy when you fall into various trials” James 1:2

Lately the weather in my hometown has been cold, rainy, and cloudy. I think the last time I saw the sun was about three weeks ago. So today, when the temperature got up to the 60’s and the sun came out, I decided to go for a light jog around my neighborhood. One thing you should know about me is that when I say “light jog” that usually means I start off at a light pace but eventually I  end up going hard by the time I am nearing up to my first mile. So, anyway I got up to my first mile and decided to kick it up a notch as I started my second mile. I may have gone a little too hard and fast because when I reached the stop sign I had to stop to catch my breath; after a few seconds I picked it up again and  a couple of strides later  my app clocked me at 2 miles.. I-was-devastated.

Actually, I was  just bummed,  had I known I was almost at  two miles I wouldn’t have stopped..And that’s when I realized that this precise moment can be compared to my daily pursuit in my faith

Sometimes, life gets a little too fast paced and sometimes we are so involved in things that at times it may seem like we can’t breathe and just need to catch our breath. There is nothing wrong with stopping to take a little breather every now and then, but is every time we stop necessary?

Scripture states that we are refined through fire, that we will face trials, but that we should consider it pure joy when we face many trials because they develop perseverance (James 1). As I mulled over this scripture I realized that’s what I should have done. I wasn’t at a point of death as I was coming up to my second mile. I could have gone a little farther pushed a little harder, but I didn’t. I stopped when it got too hard when I could have kept going. Had I maybe smiled a little and told myself “you are almost there just a little farther” I would have developed perseverance and endurance on my run. My focus was the key. I lost focus of my run and focused instead on my dry throat. Similarly, “when the going gets tough” I need to keep my focus on God and not be distracted by the trials of this life. He is my shield, my refuge, my strength, He makes the impossible possible. I just need to tell myself “just a little farther have faith” and I will be okay. Why? Because God is for us! God is for me. God is for you.

“The LORD is my strength and my shield; My heart trusted in Him, and I am helped; therefore my heart greatly rejoices, and with my song I will praise Him” Psalm 28:7

Have a lovely day!

In Christ’s love,

-S

Leave a Reply

